Medical Student Research Opportunities

Each department or office has designated a point of contact for research. These individuals can best answer questions about on-going research in the department as well as direct you to the right mentor or the best first steps to get involved with on-going research projects. We encourage you to contact them directly.

Takashi Matsui
Takashi Matsui, MD, PhD
Anatomy, Biochemistry & Physiology
email: tmatsui@hawaii.edu
go here for information
Olivier LeSaux
Olivier Le Saux, PhD
Cell and Molecular Biology
email: lesaux@hawaii.edu
or Peter Hoffmann, PhD
email: peterrh@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Henry Lew
Henry Lew, MD, PhD
Communication Sciences and Disorders
email: henrylew@hawaii.edu
or Pauline Mashima, PhD
email: mashima@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Chien-Wen Tseng
Chien-Wen Tseng, MD
Family Medicine and
Community Health

email: cwtseng@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Kamal Masaki
Kamal Masaki, MD
Geriatric Medicine
email: kmasaki@hawaii.edu
and Misty Yee
email: mistyy@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Dominic Chow
Dominic Chow, MD
Medicine
email: dominicc@hawaii.edu
or Elizabeth Tam, MD
email: tameliza@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Marjorie Mau
Marjorie Mau, MD
Native Hawaiian Health
email: mmau@hawaii.edu
and Mona-Ann Cardejon
email: monaann@hawaii.edu
Bliss Kaneshiro
Bliss Kaneshiro, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology
email: blissk@hawaii.edu
click here for information
David Horio
David Horio, MD
Pathology
email: dhorio@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Bruce Shiramizu
Bruce Shiramizu, MD
Pediatrics
email: bshirami@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Deborah Goebert snapshot_cropped
Deborah Goebert, DrPH
Psychiatry
email: goebertd@dop.hawaii.edu
click here for information
John Chen
John Chen, PhD
Quantitative Health Sciences
email: jjchen@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Russell Woo
Russell Woo, MD
Surgery
email: rkwoo@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Kenton Kramer
Kenton Kramer, PhD
Tropical Medicine, Medical
Microbiology and Pharmacology

email: kramer@hawaii.edu
click here for information
Richard Kasuya
Richard Kasuya, MD
Office of Medical Education
email: kasuya@hawaii.edu
click here for information


If you require an accessible document, please contact Joan Gerber at gerber@hawaii.edu.