University of Hawaii

MMS Faculty

Virginia Hinshaw, PhD

Dr. Virginia Hinshaw is currently Chancellor Emeritus of UH Mānoa and Professor in the Department of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology and Pharmacology at the UH Mānoa John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM). She served as UH Mānoa Chancellor from 2007-2012 and previously served as Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor at the University of California Davis and Dean of the Graduate School/Vice Chancellor of Research at the University of Wisconsin Madison. As a virologist, she conducted research at the Medical College of Virginia, University of California Berkeley, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Harvard Medical School and University of Wisconsin Madison. Her research for over 20 years focused on influenza viruses in humans, lower mammals and birds, especially epidemiology, pathogenicity and immunology, including vaccine development, resulting in 146 articles and chapters. She worked internationally on surveillance of influenza viruses in collaboration with the World Health Organization and also served as a Fellow for the Promotion of Science in Japan.

In addition to teaching students and public groups, she has most recently focused on establishing and directing the Dr. Rosita Leong Mini-Medical School on Healthy Aging at JABSOM in partnership with UH Foundation and the UH Cancer Center. Her energetic, innovative teaching style and her continual advocacy for research and education, especially providing opportunities for underrepresented groups, have earned her international recognition and enabled her to establish many productive collaborations around the world.

As a cancer survivor and thriver, she is a strong advocate for cancer research. She also serves on the boards of Blue Planet, Hale Kipa, and Roshan Cultural Heritage Institute and on the UH West Oahu Chancellor’s Advisory Council. On a personal level, she enjoys time with friends and family, reading, massage, tennis, water sports, music, golf, snow skiing and cheering for UH Mānoa athletic teams – she also is a Hawai‘i Master’s Javelin Champion.




Back to Faculty Listing