University of Hawaii

MMS Faculty

Kalani Brady, MD, MPH

Kalani Brady traces his roots to the Keli‘ikanaka‘oleaipolani family from Kaua‘i. After spending his early childhood in various areas of the country as a military dependent, Kalani was raised in Hawai‘i, graduating from St. Anthony’s School in Kailua, and later as Valedictorian and Student Body Vice-President from St. Louis High School. During high school, he conducted medical research projects in platelet function at the Kuakini Medical Research Institute. Kalani attended Harvard University on a four-year National Merit Scholarship and Harvard National Scholarship, focusing on premedical studies and the performing arts. While at Harvard, he performed with the Opera Company of Boston, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, and was a soloist of the Harvard Glee Club for four years. He graduated with honors in Engineering and Applied Physics, and enrolled at the University of Hawai‘i to pursue graduate studies in Public Health. He received his Masters and Doctorate in Biostatistics and Epidemiology from the University of Pennsylvania and completed his medical studies in 1982.

He then returned to Hawai‘i for residency training in internal medicine and became the physician in residence at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. In 2003, Kalani was appointed Associate Professor in the Department of Native Hawaiian Health at JABSOM. He served as Governor of the Hawai‘i Chapter of the American College of Physicians from 2009 to 2013. For the past eighteen years, he is the doctor on the weekly program “Ask the Doctor” on KHON FOX Channel 2 Morning News, hosted the fall 2005 PBS weekly medical show “UH on Call”, and co- hosted the weekly medical talk show “Health in Paradise” on ‘Olelo Channel 52 from 2001 until 2003. Since 2005, he has served as Editor of the Hawai‘i Journal of Medicine & Public Health (formerly the Hawai‘i Medical Journal).

Kalani was named Physician of the Year by the Hawai‘i Medical Association in 2007, Physician of the Year by the Honolulu County Medical Society in 2002, Saint Louis School Gallery of Distinguished Achievers in 2013, Distinguished Eagle Scout Award in 2008, Scot of the Year by the Caledonian Society of Hawai‘i in 1999, and received the Guy Milnor Award for Community Service in 1999 and again in 2009 from the Straub Foundation. He serves on the Board of Trustees of Saint Louis School, the O‘ahu Metro Board of Directors of the American Heart Association, and the Board of Directors of the Honolulu Boy Choir.



Back to Faculty Listing