Department of Medical Technology

Medical technology (MEDT) is a health-care profession in which medical technologists (medical laboratory scientists, MLS) perform laboratory procedures used for the promotion of health and the diagnosis, monitoring, and treatment of diseases. Results of these procedures are essential to the delivery of quality health care. The field is broad and involves several disciplines: chemistry, hematology, immunohematology (blood banking), immunology, and microbiology.

Medical technology is a constantly evolving profession. Advances in healthcare and new career opportunities have fueled the demand for medical laboratory scientists. Employment opportunities are in hospitals, physician's offices, reference labs, DNA labs, research, veterinary clinics, and other labs. Education and training in medical technology also enables graduates to pursue careers as physicians, forensic scientists, researchers, educators, health administrators, CLIA consultants, and many more.

The curriculum is a career-pathway 2+2 structure that begins with Medical Lab Technician (MLT) associate degree at a community college and culminates in a BS degree in Medical Technology. Students master the basic skills and knowledge in medical laboratory as MLT, then clinical applications and problem solving skills that are required of the baccalaureate level practitioners are learned at the University of HawaiʻiMānoa (UHM). Kapiʻolani Community College (KCC) offers an associate degree in MLT.

UH Mānoa has been granting the BS degree in Medical Technology since 1946.

As the only undergraduate degree program in JABSOM, the Department of Medical Technology is accredited by the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Science ( Following a brief clinical training (MEDT 591) at an affiliate clinical lab, graduates are eligible to challenge a national certification exam. In Hawaiʻi, clinical lab professionals are required to carry both the national certification and the State license.

The Department also engages in international student and faculty exchange with the Niigata University of Health and Welfare, Department of Medical Technology and Medical Engineering.

Current faculty members and staff at the Department are, Dr. Violet Nxedhlana (Program Director), Dr. Ji Sook Ha, Ray Yamaguchi, Yoko Zak, Jovikka Antallan, and Marybeth Kotrodimos (Assistant).

1960 East-West Road
Biomedical Science Building C206
Honolulu, HI 96822

Phone: (808) 956-8557