Pictured: JABSOM Psychiatry Chair Anthony Guerrero, MD (right) with previous department chairs Naleen Andrade, MD; Walter Char, MD (seated) and the late John F. McDermott, MD.

The Department of Psychiatry provides psychiatric teaching and training to medical students, residents in General Psychiatry, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, and Geriatric Psychiatry; and psychiatric services throughout Hawaiʻi.

    The Department provides inpatient and outpatient psychiatric services and consultation at:
    The Queen’s Medical Center
    Kapiʻolani Medical Center for Women and Children
    Hawai‘i State Hospital
    Community mental health centers on Hawai‘i Island, Molokaʻi, Maui, Kauaʻi, and Lānaʻi.

The Department of Psychiatry conducts research in various aspects of psychiatry: culture and mental health of different ethnic groups, mental health epidemiology of Native Hawaiian adolescents, substance abuse, severe mental illness, neuropsychiatry, and psychopharmacology.

Members of the department contribute service to the community on both the state and national levels. They include such activities as member of National Institute of Mental Health Review Committees, president of the Hawai‘i Psychiatric Society, and president of the Hawai‘i Council of Child Psychiatry. Members of the department also provide consultations to schools and speakers for Parent-Teacher Association groups and other healthcare and community organizations.

Contact the Department of Psychiatry Administration at:
(808) 586-2900

Psychiatry Department Portal: