Council of Health Sciences


The John A. Burns School of Medicine is part of the the Council of Health Sciences (CHS). An interdisciplinary collaboration of UH Manoa School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene, Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work, Office of Public Health Studies, UH Cancer Center and UH Hilo Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy and the John A. Burns School of Medicine.

Education and Practice

The mission of the Council of Health Sciences (CHS) is to train high-quality healthcare workers and biomedical scientists, and to contribute to the workforce, and improve the health of the people of Hawai’i. CHS students and alumni are working, learning, and caring for people in our communities. Leads from each school participate in Hawai’i Interprofessional Education (HIPE) for undergraduates, graduates, and post-graduate health science trainees.

In spite of recent designation as the healthiest state in the nation, Hawai’i faces many healthcare challenges. The continuing health disparities within the state, the challenges of accessing health care in both rural and urban settings, and the demand-capacity healthcare professional mismatch are action priorities. To help address these challenges, the CHS schools and programs are part of the UHealthy Hawai’i Initiative.

Council Members





UH Hilo Daniel K. Inouye College of Pharmacy
Caronly Ma, PharmD, BCOP
Dean and Associate Professor
(808) 933-2909
Office of Public Health Studies
Tetine Lynn Sentell, PhD
Director and Professor
(808) 956-7871
John A. Burns School of Medicine
Jerris R. Hedges, MD, MS, MMM
Dean and Professor
Barry & Virginia Weinman Endowed Chair
(808) 692-0899