Executive Committee Members


Jerris Hedges, MD, MS, MMM
Dean and Professor of Medicine; Barry & Virginia Weinman Endowed Chair
Executive Team
Lee Buenconsejo-Lum, MD
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Satoru Izutsu Endowed Professor
Mariana Gerschenson, PhD
Associate Dean for Research
Nancy K. Foster, EdD, MA, CGMA
JABSOM Chief Financial & Operations Officer
Larry Shapiro, MD
UHP Chief Executive Officer
Dean’s Office Directors
Kelley Withy, MD, PhD
Area Health Education Center
Ivy Nip Asano, MD
Lawrence Burgess, MD
Student Affairs
Jill Omori, MD 
Medical Education
Gregory Maskarinec, PhD
Global Health & International Medicine
Lee Buenconsejo-Lum, MD
Graduate Medical Education
S. Kalani Brady, MD, MPH
Continuing Medical Education
Department Chairs
Henry L. Lew, MD, PhD, CCC-A
Communications Sciences and Disorders
Takashi Matsui, MD, PhD
Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology
Olivier LeSaux, PhD
Cell and Molecular Biology
Vivek Nerurkar, PhD
Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Pharmacology
John Chen, PhD
Quantitative Health Sciences
Dick Teshima, MPH, MT (ASCP)
Medical Technology
Allen “Chip” Hixon, MD, MA
Family Medicine and Community Health
Kamal Masaki, MD
Geriatric Medicine
Elizabeth Tam, MD
Internal Medicine
Joseph “Keawe” Kaholokula, PhD
Native Hawaiian Health
Ivica Zalud, MD, PhD
Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Women’s Health
Karen Thompson, MD
Kenneth Nakamura, MD
Anthony Guerrero, MD
Kenric Murayama, MD, MBA 
Centers and Institutes
Ralph Shohet, MD
Center for Cardiovascular Research
Sue Steinemann, MD
Hyperbaric Treatment Center
Violet Horvath, PhD
Pacific Disabilities Center
Cecilia Shikuma, MD
Hawaii Center for AIDS
Winona Lee, MD
Imi Ho’ola Post Baccalaureate Program
Steve Ward, PhD
Institute for Biogenesis Research
Benjamin W. Berg, MD
Faculty Senate
Richard Allsopp, PhD
Venkataraman Balaraman, MD
Student Representatives
Elliott Koshi, MS2
President, Sophomore Class
Nicole Anzai, MS4
President, Senior Class