UH Med Now

Naleen Andrade, MD to receive American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Diversity Award

Date: September 7th, 2017 in Alumni News, Faculty, JABSOM News    Print or PDF

Dr. Andrade is pictured, left, with JABOSM Dean Jerris Hedges, MD

Pictured: Dr. Naleen Andrade, at left, with JABSOM Dean Jerris Hedges, MD (2016 Amanda Shell photo.)

Washington, DC, September 7, 2017 – The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) is pleased to announce Naleen Naupaka Andrade, MD, Professor & Director National Center on Indigenous Hawaiian Behavioral Health (NCIHBH), Clinical Director & Senior Mentor of Research, as the recipient of AACAP’s 2017 Jeanne Spurlock Lecture and Award on Diversity and Culture. Dr. Andrade, former chair of Psychiatry at the University of Hawaiʻi John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM), is a 1982 graduate of JABSOM. She is a past president of the American College of Psychiatrists and former Chair of the Board of Trustees for The Queen’s Health Systems in Honolulu.

The AACAP’s Jeanne Spurlock Lecture and Award on Diversity and Culture is named in honor of Jeanne Spurlock, MD, in recognition of her legendary commitment to recruiting members from diverse cultures into child and adolescent psychiatry. AACAP created this lecture and award in her honor to recognize her work and encourage others to follow her example. This distinguished award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the understanding of diversity and culture in children’s mental health and who contribute to the recruitment into child and adolescent psychiatry from all cultures.

Dr. Andrade is scheduled to present, “Ola – An Indigenous Health System That Could Change Our Homeland,” at the AACAP’s 64th Annual Meeting, on October 25, 2017, in Washington, DC.

Dr. Andrade was the first Native Hawaiian woman to become a psychiatrist and the first Native Hawaiian woman to lead a department of Psychiatry at a U.S. medical school. She is considered a distinguished alumna of the ʻImi Hoʻōla (“Those Who Seek to Heal”) Baccalaureate Program at JABSOM, which — for more than four decades — has prepared promising individuals from disadvantaged or underserved backgrounds for medical school.

As JABSOM Chair of Psychiatry from 1995-2012, she led the department to new heights of excellence in education, clinical care, and research in Native Hawaiian and Pacific Youth Addictions. Dr. Andrade was national President of the American College of Psychiatrists in 2012. With former JABSOM Psychiatry Chair Dr. John McDermott, she authored Peoples and Cultures of Hawaiʻi, now in its second edition.

About the AACAP

Representing more than 9,200 child and adolescent psychiatrists worldwide, the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) is the leading authority on children’s mental illnesses.

AACAP Members actively research, diagnose, and treat psychiatric disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. For more information, please visit www.aacap.org.

Related Stories:
Donors recognize new University of Hawai’i scholarship honoring Naleen Andrade, MD

Dr. Andrade completes term as president of national psychiatry group

Share this: