Quick Links
Facts at a Glance
History and Mission
Hours of Operation
University of Hawaii Home Page
JABSOM Policies and Procedures


Date: May 22, 2007

AAN Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology is sponsored by the American Association of Neurology and recognizes excellence in clinical neurology.

Recipient: Victoria Wong

ACP Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine: recognizes the most outstanding senior entering an Internal Medicine program. The Hawaii Chapter of the American College of Physicians sponsors this award.

Recipient: Nikki Inamine

ACP Bernard Yim, MD Award: established in memory of Dr. Yim who was dedicated to the clinical education of medical students. This award recognizes a student who best exemplified excellence in the third year Internal Medicine clerkship.

Recipient: Melina Yeganeh

E.E. Black Community Service Award: recognizes a senior for academic excellence and community service from funds contributed by the late Mr. Everett Earl Black, well known contractor and developer, whose many projects included the construction of the Biomedical Sciences Building on the Manoa Campus.

Recipient: Catherine Ho

Maurice Brodsky, MD Memorial Award: established in 1983 in memory of Dr. Brodsky, an authority on the treatment of tuberculosis and a key figure in the establishment of the John A. Burns School of Medicine. This award recognizes a student displaying excellence in pulmonary medicine.

Recipient: Joey Kohatsu

Walter F. Char, MD Prize in Psychiatry: established in honor of Dr. Char, founder and first Chair of the Department of Psychiatry. The Prize is awarded to the senior with the best clinical clerkship in psychiatry.

Recipient: Bernard Riola, Jr.

Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Award: presented in recognition of excellence in emergency medicine. The Society represents academic and research pursuits of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Recipient: Catherine Ho

Hawaii Academy of Family Physicians Outstanding Student Award: established in 1995 to recognize excellence in family medicine.

Recipient: Patrick Pan

Hawaii Medical Association Alliance Endowment Award: established in 1998 to recognize community service and academic achievement.

Recipient: Kelly Kawaoka

Samuro and Florence Y. Ichinose Award: established by Mrs. Ichinose in honor of her husband who had great respect for doctors and their role in the community. The award recognizes four seniors with outstanding academic records.

Recipients: Brooke Hargrove, Marci Peralto, Leah Nakamura,
Melina Yeganeh

The Glenn M. Kokame, MD Endowed Memorial Award for Surgery: to the outstanding 4th year student pursuing a career in surgery or a surgical subspecialty.

Recipient: Leah Nakamura

Colin C. McCorriston, MD Endowed Scholarship Fund: provides scholarships to assist students whose intention is to pursue training in an obstetrics and gynecology residency program.

Recipient: Marci Peralto

Dr. Frank and Mary McDowell Award: established in 1983 in memory of
Dr. McDowell, a surgeon, who was involved in the Hawaii Medical Library and its affiliation with the medical school. The award recognizes excellence in surgery.

Recipient: George Balazs

John M. Ohtani, MD Award: established in 1983 in memory of Dr. Ohtani, Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology. The award recognizes scholastic achievement, enthusiasm, dedication and willingness to learn.

Recipient: Brooke Hargrove

Po’okela No’eau Award: established in 1997 by the Friends of the Medical School to recognize the student whose characteristics best exemplify the qualities of the ideal physician. The recipient is selected by class vote.

Recipient: Patrick Pan

Po’okela Noi’i Award: established in 1997 by the Friends of the Medical School to recognize outstanding research by a senior student. The recipient is selected by a faculty panel.

Recipient: Joseph Aoki

Reddy Award in Pediatrics: established by Drs. Venu and Vijaya Reddy to recognize academic merit and outstanding achievement in pediatrics.

Recipient: Jennifer Foster

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award Presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation: in recognition of exemplary compassion, competence, and respect in the delivery of care.

Recipients: Leon Matsuo (Student)
Dr. Robert Bidwell (Faculty)

The Terry C.Y. Wong, MD Memorial Award: established in 2004 in memory of Dr. Wong, Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine, recognizes the student who demonstrates a spirit of patient advocacy.

Recipient: Emily Diep

Yazawa Family Endowed Award: established by Dr. Keijiro and Mrs. Kayoko Yazawa in 2000. The award is presented to the student who demonstrates financial need and is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.

Recipient: Amy Bell

Aloha Award: given by the Office of Student Affairs to the senior who, over the course of his/her tenure at the medical school, most personified the Aloha Spirit.

Recipient: Catherine Ho

Dr. Volt H. Tom Excellence in Geriatric Medicine Award: presented to the graduating student who has shown the most commitment to geriatric medicine.

Recipient: Joey Kohatsu

Excellence in Teaching Awards: presented to outstanding teachers in the first and second year pre-clinical subjects and in each clinical discipline. Selections are made on the basis of student input, observation and evaluation.

Kaiser-Permanente Pre-clinical Award:
Dr. Damon Sakai, Associate Professor of Medicine

Kaiser-Permanente Clinical Award:
Dr. S.Y. Tan, Professor of Medicine

Emergency Medicine:
Dr. Frederick Ching

Family Medicine & Community Health
Dr. Damon Lee

Geriatric Medicine:
Dr. Dr. Daniel Fischberg

Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women’s Health:
Dr. Steven Emura

Dr. Raul Rudoy

Dr. Helenna Nakama

Dr. Dale Oda

John M. Hardman, MD Award for Mentoring in Teaching: presented to a professor selected by students who best emulate Dr. Hardman’s passion, grace, and devotion to foster their intellectual, professional, and personal growth.

Dr. Damon Sakai

We would like to acknowledge the generosity of three Kamaaina families who make significant monetary contributions for scholarships to medical students throughout their four years of study. These scholarships make possible the fulfillment of becoming physicians and becoming a part of the health care system, providing care to the people of our multiethnic society.

E. E. Black Scholarships, the Nadine Alexander Kahanamoku Scholarships, and the Wanda Jane Pavela Scholarships. This past year, these three scholarships provided over $302,792 of financial awards to 51 medical students.


John A. Burns School of Medicine • University of Hawai`i at Manoa
651 Ilalo Street • Honolulu, Hawai`i 96813
© 2008